Lessons Learned

“So long, farewell, auf Wiedersehen, adieu. Adieu, adieu, to yieu and yieu and yieu.” – Sound of Music

WHAT LADY LIBERTY TAUGHT ME:

  • Smile muscles do exist. I can flex them for two hours and 43 minutes before they start to twitch.
  • Liquid snot production increases as temperature decreases, and rate of flow is directly proportional to wind speed.
  • More Energy = More Honks
  • More people in a day want to buy Batteries + Bulbs than get their taxes done or buy Sherwin Williams paint.
  • You can build your skill set working the streets. I now have “Sign Flipper” on my resume. No joke.
  • You can teach yourself how to dougie.
  • Lady Liberty’s gown is NOT laundered daily.
  • I only lasted five minutes with this crazy contraption strapped to my head, therefore I have ruled out a career in sports mascotery.
  • DSCN6978
  • I am no longer afraid to take chances. (or make up words)
  • I will dance on the sidewalk for four hours in the chilly weather but cannot bring myself to exercise for one minute on a day off or walk the dog in the cold.
  • I’ll clean your toilet if you pay me $2.00.
  • There’s a lot of multi-tasking on the road: Driving, eating, texting, talking, picking, singing, dancing, drinking, primping and dressing.

DSCN6533 (1)

  • Seeing things through rose-colored glasses can be a wonderful thing. (especially on a cold Valentine’s Day when the only romantic gesture experienced all day is from the toothless man following me down the sidewalk. “I like it when you dance,” he said with a twinkle in his eye.)
  • Street walkers are territorial. I’ll fight for my preferred side and corner of Battlefield Blvd. between 9:00 & 1:00, even if I have to get out there early.
  • Anybody can do this job. No matter your age, experience or education, we all start on an equal playing field. What you decide to do with it determines the game, your success and your happiness.

Tax season is over. So is Lady Liberty’s run. The crown has been retired.

Do I miss it? NO. Not a bit. Don’t expect to find me shaking a Little Caesar’s sign on the corner. No need to wonder if that’s Costumed Mama in the cow suit imploring you to eat more chicken. Been there. Done that. I did, however, run across this guy on my ride home from work.

DSCN7229

A fellow street performer waving to me on my last day. Hmmm… could it be a sign? I hear his boss offers great benefits.

So what’s next for Costumed Mama? I have a feeling she’ll be in costume again very soon. This was the last installment in the Lady Liberty series, but there’s more adventure and fun to come. Stay tuned and become a “follower” by subscribing to Costumed Mama’s blog today.

DSCN7190

 “I’m glad to go, I cannot tell a lie. I flit, I float, I fleetly flee, I fly. So long, farewell, auf Wiedersehen, goodbye” – Sound of Music

4 thoughts on “Lessons Learned

  1. Sorry to see you go lady liberty. I have a feeling you will be back in costumes very soon. I enjoyed every written word in every publication. You have a wonderful grasp of the English language. I predict a very successful future for you as you persue your goals as a writer.

  2. Your selection of song lyrics are always spot on…au revoir…arriverderci..Caio…
    shalom….aloha…bye bye…see ya…adios!!!

Leave a Reply

