Give Me Liberty or Give me Lysol

“We’ll keep singing without fail otherwise we’d spoil it,
Hosing down the garbage pail and scrubbing up the toilet, ooh!” – Disney’s Enhchanted/Happy Working Song

 

B-Day had arrived.

I drove to work that day with no firm plan regarding the dreaded bathroom detail.

I had three options:

1. Tell the boss I wasn’t going to do it. Here I risked possible termination and ruining my reputation for being a star employee – one that was accommodating and easy going.

2. Fake it. Hang out for 15 minutes after my shift and pretend to clean the bathroom. It wasn’t that dirty. Nobody would catch on. Yes! I felt certain it would work. There was one small problem. Costumed Mama was incapable of cheating or lying.

3. Clean the bathroom. Oh, how it pains me to type the words.

At the end of my shift I walked into the bathroom. I surveyed the small room and inspected the condition of the toilet. Thank God for tidy coworkers. Maybe I could do it.

And then, Costumed Mama got an idea. Costumed Mama got an awful, funny, crafty idea. The words of Mary Poppins came to mind:

“In ev’ry job that must be done there is an element of fun. You find the fun and snap! The job’s a game. And ev’ry task you undertake becomes a piece of cake -A lark! A spree! It’s very clear to see that a spoonful of sugar helps the medicine go down.”

 And just like that – SNAP – I was excited to clean the bathroom!

I sprinkled sugar all over that bathroom!

 

 

DSCN6611

 

Oh, yes I did!

 

DSCN6608

DSCN6881

 

 

Once again, Costumed Mama had turned the mundane into something fun with her unique touch and creative flair.

I walked out of the office giggling.

Who would use the bathroom next? What would they think? Would they smile or laugh or just think that someone in their presence was a wacky weirdo. Such things amuse me.

 

 

“How we all enjoy letting loose with a little la-da-da-dum-dum
While we’re emptying the vacuum out
It’s such fun to hum a happy working song
Ooh, a happy working song” – Disney’s Enchanted/Happy Working Song

Click here for the Happy Working Song video. It’s the best!

 

 

4 thoughts on “Give Me Liberty or Give me Lysol

Leave a Reply

