Give Me Your Tired, Your Poor… Your Crazy?

 


“I remember when, I remember, I remember when I lost my mind. There was something so pleasant about that place.”- Crazy/Gnarls Barkley                                    
(From Lady Lib’s StreetDance Playlist )

 DSCN6835

This crazy adventure began when I wondered what it would be like to be a Lady Liberty Waver.

Let’s face it – after 20 minutes on the street you’ve pretty much got it figured out. So how have I lasted this long? I’ve asked myself that many, many times.

I stood outside for hours when temperatures dropped below freezing, the wind was brutal and time seemed to stand still. I considered quitting… walking off the job. There were days when I was bored, tired and wanting to go home. I considered my hourly wage and wondered was it really worth it to stick it out. Why? Hadn’t I accomplished my mission?

I had accomplished the first goal. I got hired. I got to wear the Lady Liberty costume, and I got to strut my stuff on the street, but there was still more to do. I had set other goals and that’s what kept me coming back to the street.

FITNESS – I was convinced that there was no possible way that I could NOT lose weight on this job. I had struggled for years trying to lose weight unsuccessfully. With Lady Liberty as my personal trainer at least 12 hours a week, I was going to see results. This would be forced cardiovascular exercise on a regular basis, and I was going to get paid for it!

CHALLENGE – I wanted to see if I could do it. Could I problem solve and endure? I wanted to figure out ways to handle the weather. I wanted to see if my personal efforts could make a difference for the business. I wanted to challenge myself to come up with as many creative ideas for my costume, my props and my outdoor performance space.

ADVENTURE – This was something so unique. I felt compelled to try it. I was intrigued by who I might meet on the job or on the street and where it might lead. It was also a risky endeavor personally. I wasn’t sure how friends and family would take it, and that’s why I kept it a secret for several months.

STORIES – Whenever you open your world to new people, experiences and scenes, there are tons of story ideas. (at least for me) As a writer, I was excited about all the new characters and scenarios that would present themselves. The idea of this blog came to me one month into the job. It was a great inspiration and served as a strong motivator to keep me working at a time when things were getting very stale.

MONEY – I needed it. It wasn’t much, but it was something.

THE BONUS – I was told there was a monetary bonus for employees who worked the entire tax season. I wanted that bonus from day one. Halfway through the season, when I was having tough days, I’d think – I’ve made it this far. I can’t give up my bonus.

That’s what keeps me going. I’ve learned a lot about myself on the journey. I’m in the homestretch now and it’s really hard to keep things fresh. I’ve been waiting for warm, dry days so I can shed some layers and stop this constant battle with the wicked winter weather.

Do you think you’ve got what it takes to be a waver?                                                 Try it for a day and you could win $1000.

Yes, $1000! Liberty Tax Service is having a wave-a-thon on April 12. I’m sure I’m not eligible being a “professional waver.”

Think about it – you could make more money in a day than I’ve made the whole tax season. Hey! That doesn’t seem fair. You’d earn at least 15 times more than me an hour depending on how long the other wavers last. Wow. That makes going to work tomorrow even harder.

Wave-a-thon details here.

DSCN7008“Ain’t nothin gonna break my stride.  Nobody’s gonna slow me down, Oh  no. I got to keep on movin'” –  Break My Stride/Matthew  Wilder    (From Lady Lib’s StreetDance Playlist)         

2 thoughts on “Give Me Your Tired, Your Poor… Your Crazy?

Leave a Reply

